## Faculty Handbook Section 1.3 Standing Committee System of the Faculty and its Senate

The Committee shall consist of a chairperson, three faculty members from the College of Arts and Science (if feasible, one from natural sciences and mathematics, one from arts and humanities, and one from social and behavioral sciences) and one representative from each other college offering a graduate program, serving for three-year terms to be arranged in sequence such that the terms of no more than four members shall expire in any academic year. In addition, there shall be two ex officio members, the Associate Provost for Graduate Studies and the Director of the University Library. There shall be two graduate student members appointed. In the absence of a duly constituted graduate student government, the Committee on Graduate Studies shall have the responsibility of arranging the election of graduate student senators. Members as they retire from the Committee shall be replaced by members with the new period of tenure.