REGULAR MEETING OF THE UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

OCTOBER 7, 2019 – Roselle Center for Fine Arts - Gore Recital Hall

3:00 PM

September 30, 2019

TO: Senators and Executives

FROM: Lynnette Overby, Vice President

University Faculty Senate

SUBJECT: Regular Faculty Senate Meeting October 7, 2019

The **regular meeting of the University Faculty Senate** will be held Monday, October 7 at 4:00 p.m. in Gore Recital Hall.

Immediately prior to the Faculty Senate meeting, the **General Faculty Meeting** will begin at **3:00 p.m.** The Faculty Senate Executive Committee invites all faculty to an open discussion with President Dennis Assanis. Please make every attempt to attend this General Faculty Meeting.

The Agenda will be as follows:

AGENDA

I. Adoption of the Agenda

II. Approval of the Minutes: September 9, 2019

III. Remarks: Provost Robin Morgan

- IV. Consent Agenda: <u>Curriculog login with UD credentials and click on Agendas tab at the top</u>
 - 1. Recommendation from the Faculty Senate Committee on Graduate Studies (Chris Williams, Chair) and the Coordinating Committee on Education (Charles Boncelet, Chair) for a revision to the PhD in Criminology
 - 2. Recommendation from the Faculty Senate Committee on Graduate Studies (Chris Williams, Chair) and the Coordinating Committee on Education (Charles Boncelet, Chair) for a revision to the PhD in Sociology
 - **3.** Recommendation from the Faculty Senate Committee on Graduate Studies (Chris Williams, Chair) and the Coordinating Committee on Education (Charles Boncelet, Chair) for a **revision to the PhD in Nursing Science**
- V. Regular Agenda: <u>Curriculog login with UD credentials and click on Agendas tab at the</u> top
 - A. Unfinished Business: None
 - **B.** New Business:

Resolutions:

- **4.** Recommendation from the Faculty Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies (William Rose, Chair) with the concurrence of the Graduate Studies Committee (Chris Williams, Chair) and the Coordinating Committee on Education (Charles Boncelet, Chair) for a **request to change the name of the Department of Music to the School of Music**
- WHEREAS, a name change has been discussed with and supported by the Offices of President, Provost, and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; and
- WHEREAS, a name change has the support of the Educational Affairs Committee; be it therefore
- RESOLVED, that the Faculty Senate recommends changing the name of the Department of Music to "School of Music."
- 5. Recommendation from the Faculty Senate Committee on Graduate Studies (Chris Williams, Chair) and the Coordinating Committee on Education (Charles Boncelet, Chair) for a request to grant Permanent Status to the MEPT in Particle Technology

- WHEREAS, the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering in the College of Engineering has offered a successful Master of Engineering in Particle Technology (MEPT) program, and,
- WHEREAS, the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering does not have another professional degree other than the MEPT program, and,
- WHEREAS, the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering does not have another 4+1 program other than the 4+1 BCHE/MEPT program, and,
- WHEREAS, there is present particle technology interest from students and IFPRI, and,
- WHEREAS, there is a lack of graduate degree programs in particle technology, and,
- WHEREAS, there is a lack of concentration in particle technology in undergraduate degrees, and,
- WHEREAS, there is a lack of similar 4+1 programs in particle technology, and,
- WHEREAS, the existing MEPT graduate program already provides all of the courses and administrative framework for continuing such a degree; be it therefore
- RESOLVED, that the Faculty Senate recommends permanent program status approval for the MEPT program.

VI. Introduction of New Business:

Such items as may come before the Senate. (No motion introduced under new business, except a motion to refer to committee, shall be acted upon until the next meeting of the Senate.)

VII. University Faculty Senate 50th Celebration: Senate President Matthew Robinson

Dr. Barbara Settles – The Early Years of the University Faculty Senate

Dr. Prasad Dhurjati – Jon Olson, The First Faculty Senate President

VIII. Introduction of the Former University of Delaware Faculty Senate Presidents: Senate President Matthew Robinson

IX. Group Photograph of the Former University of Delaware Faculty Senate Presidents